CALL FOR PAPERS

PhD Macroeconomics Conference

Lausanne, December 4-5th, 2025





Conference Theme

This two-day PhD conference in macroeconomics, cofinanced by CIVIS and the Swiss National Bank fund at HEC, is hosted by the Department of Economics at the University of Lausanne on **December 4-5th**. The conference aims to bring together leading senior researchers and PhD students in the macroeconomics community, fostering academic exchange and interaction in Lausanne. The event will feature **12 presentations** of PhD candidates (each 45 minutes, including one discussion per presentation led by an expert in the field) and two keynote lectures.

We invite submissions in the field of **Macroeconomics**. Both empirical and theoretical works are welcomed. Topics of interest include, but are not limited to (in no particular order):

- Firm Dynamics and Productivity
- Heterogeneity and Monetary Policy
- International Macroeconomics and Finance
- International Trade and Geopolitical Risks
- Monetary and Fiscal policy
- Macroeconomics of Climate Change

Keynote Speakers

Elena Carletti (TBC)

Bocconi University

Matteo Maggiori

Stanford University - online

Selection Process

PhD and Postdoctoral students interested in participating should send a full paper, or extended abstract, by the 1st July, 2025 (23h59, GMT), using this link: https://forms.gle/ChTmPv2EDyTebAuy7. All applicants will be notified of the decision by early September. We especially welcome submissions from students in the later stages of their PhD program. Preference will be given to developed work.

There are no application or registration fees. Daily catering and the conference dinner are covered, but presenters are expected to cover their own accommodation and travel expenses.

Questions about the application process or other concerns can be sent to julian.marcoux@unil.ch

Scientific Committee

Philippe Bacchetta

(U. of Lausanne, SFI & CEPR)

Aurélien Eyguem

(U. of Lausanne & CEPR)

Jean-Paul Renne (U. of Lausanne)

Kenza Benhima

(U. of Lausanne & CEPR)

Gernot Müller

(U. of Tübingen, CEPR & CESifo)

Simon Scheidegger

(U. of Lausanne & E4S)

Gianluca Benigno

(U. of Lausanne & CEPR)

Céline Poilly

(Aix-Marseille U., CEPR & IDW)

Mathias Thoenig

(U. of Lausanne, CEPR & IMD)

Organizing Committee

Mario Carceller, Viktor Gradoux, Julian Marcoux

(U. of Lausanne)